Pro Bono Students Canada

PBSC partners with Lexpert Zenith Awards


Pro Bono Students Canada is proud to be the Community Sponsor of the Lexpert Zenith Awards 2010, honouring Canadian law firms, in-house departments and law students who are committing their time, skills and mentorship to a diverse and valuable range of pro bono activities. Nikki Gershbain, PBSC’s National Director, is a member of the Zenith Awards’ advisory board. The awards will be presented on September 28, 2010 at the Royal York Hotel in Toronto.

This year’s recipients include Kathy Moulton, a PBSC volunteer from the University of New Brunswick, who is the Platinum award winner in the category of Pro Bono by a Law Student. Kathy is being recognized for creating and running the Family Law Legal Information Project (FLLIP) at UNB, which serves women survivors of domestic violence in Fredericton.

National Director Nikki Gershbain, PBSC FLP Coordinator Kathy Moulton, Thomson Carswell VP Robert Freeman and Thomson Reuters VP Rachel Francis

In addition to PBSC’s National Director, the advisory board for this year’s awards features a number of distinguished practitioners and professionals from across the country, including: Bruce Churchill-Smith, Q.C. (Board of Directors, Pro Bono Law Alberta; Partner, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP); George T.H. Cooper, C.M., C.D., Q.C. (Chair and Partner, McInnes Cooper); Nathalie Des Rosiers (General Counsel, CCLA); Patricia Gallivan, Q.C. (Partner, Lawson Lundell LLP); Roy L. Heenan, O.C., Ad. E. (Chair and Founding Partner, Heenan Blaikie LLP); Hon. R. Roy McMurty, O.C., O.Ont., Q.C. (former Chief Justice of Ontario; Counsel, Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP); Lorne Sossin (Dean, Osgoode Hall law School); Janet Stewart, O.Ont., Q.C. (Partner, Lerners LLP).